تتخصص شركة جلاس وركس في مشروعات صناعة الزجاج بأفريقيا والشرق الأوسط. وتركز الشركة على إنتاج العبوات الزجاجية والزجاج المسطح، مستفيدة من وفرة المواد الخام والعمالة وإنخفاض تكاليف الطاقة بشمال أفريقيا.

تمتلك شركة جلاس وركس حصة قدرها 31.8% في شركة مصر لصناعة الزجاج (ش.م.م) وهي واحدة من كبرى شركات إنتاج وتصدير العبوات الزجاجية في الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا.

وتقوم الشركة بإمداد السوق المحلي والأسواق الخارجية بالعبوات الزجاجية والزجاج المسطح مستفيدة من قاعدتها الصناعية في مصر والتي تساهم في تسهيل أنشطة التصدير مع وضع الشركة في صدارة المنتجين والمصدرين للمنتجات الزجاجية بالمنطقة.

وتستحوذ شركة مصر لصناعة الزجاج على حصة 35% من سوق العبوات الزجاجية في مصر، حيث تمتلك منشأة صناعية في مسطرد بالقاهرة الكبرى تبلغ طاقتها الإنتاجية 115 ألف طن سنويًا. وتجدر الإشارة إلى أن مصنع الشركة المتحدة للزجاج (التابعة لمصر لصناعة الزجاج) سيؤدي إلى زيادة الطاقة الإنتاجية بمعدل 200 ألف طن سنويًا عند افتتاحه غير أن الشركة فضلت إرجاء خطط التوسع في الوقت الحالي، علمًا بأن مصنع العبوات الزجاجية التابع للشركة يقوم حاليًا بتصنيع 170 مليون أمبول سنويًا.

قامت شركة جلاس وركس خلال عام 2014 ببيع حصتها في شركة سفنكس للزجاج والتي تمتلك مصنع سفنكس للزجاج المسطح بمدينة السادات على بعد 70 كم شمال القاهرة، علمًا بأن المصنع بدأ الإنتاج في أبريل 2010 بطاقة إنتاجية تبلغ 220 ألف طن سنويًا.

GlassWorks is Qalaa Holdings’ platform for glass investments in the Middle East and Africa. With a focus on container glass, this investment capitalizes on North Africa’s lower energy costs, abundance of raw materials and intensive labor supply – in addition to the growing global demand for container and float glass.

GlassWorks currently owns a 31.8% stake in Misr Glass Manufacturing S.A.E. (MGM), a leading manufacturer and exporter of glass containers in the Middle East and North Africa.

GlassWorks’ subsidiary will supply both the domestic and export markets for container glass. With a manufacturing base in Egypt and a geographic location that easily supports exports, the company is perfectly suited to become one of the region’s largest producers and exporters of glass products.

MGM holds a 35% share of the container glass market in Egypt. The company’s manufacturing facility is based in Mostorod, near Cairo, and has a current production capacity of 115,000 tons per annum. MGM’s subsidiary United Glass Company’s (UGC) new state-of-the-art plant will add 200,000 tons per annum to MGM’s overall productive capacity; however, plans for expansion are currently on hold. Additionally, UGC’s ampoule factory is currently producing 170 million ampoules per annum.