التعدين

نجحت شركة أسكوم في التحول من إحدى الشركات الخدمية الصغيرة في قطاع مواد البناء إلى شركة قابضة تتحكم في عدد من الامتيازات المنتجة لرمال السيليكا وحصى البناء وغيرها من المواد الخام التي تخدم قطاع الإنشاءات، وذلك سعيًا للتوسع على نطاق أكبر من توريد المواد الخام إلى مصانع الأسمنت فقط. وتقوم الشركة حاليًا بإدارة عدد من المحاجر الصغيرة في مصر إلى جانب امتلاك شركة متخصصة في إنتاج مواد البناء بسوق الجزائر.

المعادن الثمينة

تأسست شركة أسكوم بريشيوس ميتالز لتوحيد أنشطة أسكوم في مجال استكشاف وإنتاج المعادن الثمينة. وتعمل الشركة حاليًا باثنين من الامتيازات الأثيوبية (أسوسا – 402 كم مربع / أويرو جودير – 1000 كم مربع)، وامتياز آخر في السودان لا يفصله عن امتياز أسوسا إلا الحدود الدولية (النيل الأزرق – 3000 كم مربع) علمًا بأن هذه الامتيازات خضعت لضغوط قهرية خلال عام 2011 نظرًا لبعض الأسباب والظروف الأمنية.

الخامات الصناعية

قامت الشركة بإنشاء مصنع جديد لإنتاج كربونات الكالسيوم في عام 2009، على مقربة من الامتيازات المنتجة في صعيد مصر، سعيًا لتلبية الطلب المتزايد على تلك المادة باعتبارها مكون رئيسي في صناعة البلاستيك والورق والدهانات والكيماويات. وقامت الشركة كذلك بتركيب الطاحونة الرطبة بتكلفة استثمارية 7.3 مليون دولار، ونتج عن ذلك مضاعفة قدرة الطحن لتبلغ 240 ألف طن سنويًا. وتقوم الشركة بتصدير إنتاجها إلى أسواق آسيا والخليج وأفريقيا وأمريكا اللاتينية.

ومن جانب آخر، بدأت شركة جلاس روك للمواد العازلة تصدير الصوف الصخري إلى عدد من الأسواق الرئيسية في أوروبا وشمال أفريقيا ومجلس التعاون الخليجي وتركيا عقب افتتاح مصنعها في مايو 2012 بتكلفة استثمارية 70 مليون دولار. وبدأت الشركة إنتاج الصوف الزجاجي في نوفمبر 2012 ليتوزع الإنتاج السنوي بواقع 30 ألف طن من الصوف الصخري و20 ألف طن من الصوف الزجاجي.

إدارة المحاجر

نجحت أسكوم في التحول إلى أكبر شركة متخصصة في إدارة المحاجر بمنطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا على مدار العقد الماضي، وتقوم الشركة بتوفير أكثر من 40 مليون طن سنويًا من المواد الخام التي تحتاجها شركات ومصانع الأسمنت، من خلال أنشطة إدارة المحاجر في مصر.

  • فايز جريس
    السيرة الذاتية

    فايز جريس

    رئيس مجلس الإدارة والعضو المنتدب لشركة أسكوم
    فايز جريس

    فايز جريس

    رئيس مجلس الإدارة والعضو المنتدب لشركة أسكوم

     

    بدأ فايز جريس مسيرته المهنية مع مجموعة أسيك عام 1980. ويشغل جريس منصب العضو المنتدب لشركة أسيك للتعدين – أسكوم منذ عام 2001. وأصبح جريس رئيس مجلس إدارة الشركة بالتزامن مع الاستحواذ عليها من جانب شركة القلعة عام 2004 لتصبح أسكوم الذراع الاستثماري التابع لشركة القلعة في مجال الخدمات التعدينية. ولعب جريس دوراً محوريًا في تحويل أسكوم من شركة خدمية صغيرة لتلبية متطلبات قطاع الأسمنت ومواد البناء في مصر إلى مجموعة تضم عدداً من الشركات الرائدة ذات العمليات والأنشطة في أنحاء الشرق الأوسط وأفريقيا. كما ساعد جريس في توسيع أنشطة الشركة لتشمل استكشاف الذهب والمعادن الثمينة، إلى جانب تأسيس قسم خاص بمواد البناء وآخر لإنتاج مسحوق كربونات الكالسيوم.

Mining
In the building materials sector, ASCOM has gone from a service provider to holding concessions for mining aggregates, silica sand, gravel and other basic raw materials. The aim has been to expand beyond the domain of the cement industry. Today, the company operates a number of small quarries in Egypt and has a fully specialized company operating in the aggregate market in Algeria.

Precious Metals
ASCOM established ASCOM Precious Metals Mining (APM) as a logical progression to consolidate all exploration operations of precious metal mining under one entity. The company currently has two concessions in Ethiopia (Asosa – 402 km2 and Awero Godere – 1,000 km2) and one concession in Sudan (Blue Nile – 3,000 km2) which has been placed under force majeure since 2011 due to security concerns in the region. 

Industrial Minerals Manufacturing
ASCOM’s first manufacturing plant — ASCOM Carbonate and Chemical Manufacturing (ACCM) — was commissioned in 2009. The plant specializes in the production of calcium carbonate, a material with vast applications in the fields of plastics, paper, paint and chemicals. ASCOM holds a number of concessions for high-quality calcium carbonate in Upper Egypt within close proximity to the plant. ACCM exports its products to Asia, the Arabian Gulf, Africa and South America.

ASCOM subsidiary GlassRock Insulation Company began producing rockwool at its USD 70 million greenfield facility in May 2012 and is targeting both domestic sales and exports to key markets in Europe, North Africa, the Gulf Cooperation Council countries and Turkey. The company — the first of its kind in Egypt — began production of glasswool in November 2012, with total production capacity split at 30,000 metric tons of rockwool and 20,000 metric tons of glasswool per annum.

Quarry Management
ASCOM has grown to be the largest specialized company in the quarry management sector in the Middle East and North Africa. Over the past decade, the company has developed unique expertise in the field, particularly within the cement industry, and manages the bulk of the large cement quarries in Egypt, mining over 40 million tons per annum.

  • Fayez Gress
    Read Biography

    Fayez Gress

    ASCOM - CEO & Executive Chair
    Fayez Gress

    Fayez Gress

    ASCOM - CEO & Executive Chair

    Fayez Gress took on the role of Managing Director at ASEC Company for Mining (ASCOM), Qalaa Holdings' platform in the regional mining industry, in 2001. After the company was acquired by Qalaa Holdings (then known as Citadel Capital) in 2004, he became Chairman and Managing Director. Gress has been instrumental in developing ASCOM from a local player that provides services to the cement and building materials sector in Egypt to a group of companies with operations throughout the Middle East and Africa. He has helped introduce new lines of business including gold exploration, an aggregates division and calcium carbonate production. Gress, a geologist by training, began his career with ASEC Group in 1980 as a field geologist.